Monday, June 3, 2013

Allen S. Griffin Award honors nine Monterey Peninsula area teachers

Nine Monterey Peninsula area teachers were honored last month for demonstrating a high standard of sustained excellence in teaching. They each received the Allen S. Griffin Award for excellence in teaching at the High School through Post Secondary School levels including a check for $1,000 from the Allen S. Griffin Fund of the Community Foundation for Monterey County (CFMC). The Allen S. Griffin fund is one of 28 scholarship and award funds of the more than 300 charitable funds held by the CFMC.

The 2013 Allen S. Griffin Award recipients are:

For High School:

Brenda Burran (Carmel High School – EL and Strategies)
Gary Childs II (Monterey High School – English)
Christine Berry (Seaside High School – Chemistry)
Kathy Buller (Pacific Grove High School – Spanish)

For Post Secondary School:

Kate Lockwood (CSU Monterey Bay – Computer Science)
Alice Lyman Miller (Navy Postgraduate School – Senior Lecturer)
Peter Ambler Shaw (MIIS – Applied Linguistics and Cross-Cultural Communication)
Haesook Han (Defense Language Institute - Korean)
Andres Durstenfeld (Monterey Peninsula College - Biology)

Established in 1982, the Allen S. Griffin Award was created by a bequest from the late Col. Allen Griffin, founder and former publisher of The Herald, soldier and civic leader, and one of the founders and former board president of the Community Foundation for Monterey County. The Griffin awards honor teachers with a record of sustained excellence in the classroom and significant impact in the community. The recipients are selected by a committee at each participating Monterey Peninsula school and the awards are given every two years.

No comments:

Post a Comment